Skip to Content

St. Scholastica joins Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00
College of St. Scholastica

DULUTH, MN -- Officials with the College of St. Scholastica announced Wednesday they will join the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) beginning in the 2021-22 season.

“We were approached by MIAC leadership recently about the possibility of membership,” said St. Scholastica President Barbara McDonald. “We did an extensive internal assessment on what the move would mean for not only our athletics department and student-athletes, but the College as a whole. This is a very good fit with our institutional identity, and with the aspirations of Saints coaches, student-athletes and fans. We look forward to joining our Minnesota private college peers in the MIAC.”

According to the release, the College will be the 13th full-time member of the MIAC in 2021, joining several other Minnesotan private undergraduate colleges.

The University of St. Thomas was recently voted out of the MIAC.

St. Scholastica will be part of the MIAC in 20 out of 22 of their varsity sports. Men's and women's nordic skiing programs will remain a part of the Central Collegiate Ski Association (CCSA).

Officials say the men's and women's hockey programs will move over to the MIAC from the Northern Collegiate Hockey Association (NCHA), marking the first time the hockey programs have been affiliated with the same conference as the rest of the College's athletics department.

Moving to the MIAC will end membership in the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference (UMAC) for 18 of the College's varsity programs. St. Scholastica has been part of UMAC since 1995.

Officials say the MIAC is celebrating their 100th year as a league. They sponsor championships in 22 sports, and is recognized as one of the most competitive NCAA Division III intercollegiate athletic conferences in the country.

In addition, the MIAC announced a realignment in their football conference to a 10-team, two division format, after the addition of both St. Scholastica and Macalester College.

St. Scholastica's division will include Carleton, Gustavus Adolphus, Saint John's, and St. Olaf, and more.

Hunter McCullough

Skip to content